Which is the oldest classic horse race?

Belmont Stakes, oldest and longest of the three classic horse races (with the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes) that constitute the Triple Crown of American horse racing. The Belmont Stakes originated in 1867 and is named after the financier, diplomat, and sportsman August Belmont.

What are the five Classic races?

English Classics, in horse racing, five of the oldest and most important English horse races. They are the Derby, the Oaks, the One Thousand Guineas, the Saint Leger, and the Two Thousand Guineas (qq. v.).

Which British Classic horse race is run latest in the year?


The Coronation Cup is run on the same day as the Oaks, over the same mile-and-a-half course as the two Classics. This is a race for older horses and we may see Serpentine and Love, winners of the 2020 Derby and Oaks respectively, back at the track where they achieved immortality.

Who is the greatest jockey of all time?


Rank Jockey Name 1st
1 Russell A. Baze 12,842
2 Laffit A. Pincay, Jr. 9,530
3 William Shoemaker 8,833
4 Pat Day 8,803

Which jockey has won the most classic races?

In 1990 Piggott came out of retirement to resume his career as a jockey. He notably won the 2,000 Guineas in 1992, bringing his total English Classic race wins to an unprecedented 30.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many times a day should you feed horses?

Which trainer has won the most classics?

You name it, Aidan O’Brien has won it. Probably more than once. He has accumulated 39 Classic triumphs in Britain – including a record eight Derby wins and ten QIPCO 2000 Guineas triumphs. And in his native Ireland he has won 44, with 14 Irish Derby victories to his name.

Which three races must be won for a horse to win the English Triple Crown?

Triple Crown, in British horse racing, championship attributed to a colt or filly that in a single season wins the races known as the Two Thousand Guineas, the Derby, and the Saint Leger.